A Ticket to Dive in 2018

Alessandro De Rose
Date: 26/10/2017

The cliff diving world may still be rubbing its eyes following a stunning and unforgettable climax in Chile, but as the dust begins to settle on the 2017 season, attention now turns to discovering which athletes qualified to compete in 2018 as permanent athletes.

Only the top six men and top four women in the 2017 Red Bull Cliff Diving World Series final standings automatically qualify for next season, with the remaining permanent divers decided by the 2017 World Ranking System. For both the men and women, this takes into account the six World Series results along with the FINA World Cup in Abu Dhabi and FINA World Championship in Budapest, while the men's Marmeeting also counts towards their ranking.

Qualifying in the men's automatic places are new World Series champion Jonathan Paredes (MEX), the man he plucked the title from, Gary Hunt (GBR), with fellow Brit Blake Aldridge enjoying the best season of his career to complete the top three.

Alessandro De Rose (ITA), who became the first ever wildcard winner on home soil in Polignano a Mare, was quite possibly the most eye-catching performer of the season, finishing up in fourth even though he only competed in five out of the six stops. Rounding out the World Series top six are Americans Andy Jones and David Colturi in fifth and sixth respectively.

Alessandro De Rose will become the first Italian in the World Series following a stunning season as a wildcard diver. Photo: Romina Amato/Red Bull Content Pool.

The remaining four permanent tickets for the 2018 season were assigned according to the rankings after 9 events, with Michal Navratil (CZE), Steven LoBue (USA), Orlando Duque (COL) and Kris Kolanus (POL) all making it into the line-up.

Mexico's Sergio Guzman is the only man who drops out of the permanent diver list, and will once again need to prove himself as a wildcard next season.

In the women's, two-time World Series champion Rhiannan Iffland and fellow Australian Helena Merten were joined by Adriana Jimenez (MEX) and Ginger Huber (USA) in the top four automatic qualification spots. Competing alongisde them in 2018 will be Yana Nestsiarava, the first Belarusian to be included in the World Series, and Anna Bader (GER), who returned from her baby break to enjoy an impressive season as a wildcard.

Anna Bader (right) made it three podium finishes in four stops to move back into the women's permanent line-up. Photo: Dean Treml/Red Bull Content Pool.

Due to the injury policy, Canada's Lysanne Richard will retain her permanent status despite missing out on the whole season due to a neck problem, meaning there will be seven women in the 2018 line-up. Three wildcards will push up the total number of female divers at every stop to ten. 

Despite her victory in Mostar, disappointing results at the other stops means American Cesilie Carlton misses out on a permanent spot for next season.

2018 Permanent Divers:


1. Jonathan Paredes, MEX
2. Gary Hunt, GBR
3. Blake Aldridge, GBR
4. Alessandro De Rose, ITA
5. Andy Jones, USA
6. David Colturi, USA
7. Michal Navratil, CZE
8. Steven LoBue, USA
9. Orlando Duque, COL
10. Kris Kolanus, POL


1. Rhiannan Iffland, AUS
2. Helena Merten, AUS
3. Adriana Jimenez, MEX
4. Ginger Huber, USA
5. Yana Nestsiarava, BLR
6. Anna Bader, GER
7. Lysanne Richard, CAN

Watch the Lago Ranco Replay

Relive the action on demand at www.redbullcliffdiving.com and Red Bull TV. Red Bull TV is available on connected TVs, gaming consoles, mobile devices and more. Find out more at about.redbull.tv

Read and watch more Red Bull Cliff Diving here