Azores, S. Miguel

Blake Aldridge cliff diving in the Azores in 2013

The Portuguese archipelago of the Azores hosted the Red Bull Cliff Diving World Series for a third successive year in 2014.

An impressive monolith of volcanic stone and the outside crater walls of the circular-shaped islet less than one kilometre from the coastline of Saõ Miguel are the perfect spots to explore this pure sport and dive straight from the cliffs.

Situated in the middle of the Atlantic – 1,369km west of the European mainland – the Azores archipelago comprises nine islands spread over three groups. This territory symbolizes the beginning of the grand adventure of discovery that began in the 15th century and led the Portuguese to have a presence in the four corners of the world. Of volcanic origin, the Azores are undoubtedly one of the last paradises in Europe – appearing often in legends of the lost continent of Atlantis.

The Islet of Vila Franca do Campo, named after the village on the mainland, is located around one kilometre from the coastline and came about following the collapse of a former volcano. After being used for many purposes over the centuries – from a military fort to a vineyard – the islet was classified as a nature reserve in 1983.

Diver Startlist
Gary Hunt (UK)
Jonathan Paredes (MEX)
Artem Silchenko (RUS)
Steven LoBue (USA)
Orlando Duque (COL)
Michal Navratil (CZE)
Blake Aldridge (UK)
David Colturi (USA)
Andy Jones (USA)
Kris Kolanus (POL)
Alain Kohl (LUX) - Wildcard
Andreas Hulliger (SUI) - Wildcard
Kyle Mitrione (USA) - Wildcard
Sasha Kutsenko (UKR) - Wildcard


Up Down

Up Down

Up Down


2020 Tour Stops